The Programme

In addition to projects within the develoPPP.de CLASSIC framework the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) currently supports initiatives by privately owned companies that mitigate the economic as well as the health-related impact of the corona pandemic in developing or emerging countries.

Suitable projects can receive up to EUR 2,000,000 of funding, with the public contribution covering a maximum of 50 percent of the total costs. In cases of particularly high developmental relevance, projects close to a company’s core business may also be eligible for support within the COVID-19 Response framework. In these instances, the public contribution is up to EUR 200,000. In accordance with EU law on state aid, non-profit and public procurement, higher funding amounts may be possible in exceptional cases.

The measures to be supported are selected through special competitions. Currently, project proposals can be submitted until the 31st of March 2021. 

Who can apply?

The programme is open for German and European companies as well as companies from developing or emerging market countries that:

  • have an annual turnover of at least EUR 800,000
  • have records of two operational financial years and
  • are registered in the EU, a member country of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) or a country on the OECD DAC list

Click here for a complete list of the criteria.

From application to project

Interested companies can submit their project proposals for COVID-19 Response to DEG – Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft or Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) until the 31st of March 2021. In order to be able to clarify any questions at an early stage and to enable projects to start as quickly as possible, submissions are expressly encouraged before the application deadline. The incoming project proposals will be reviewed shortly upon receipt. If the decision is positive it will be further specified together with the respective implementing partner.

How others use the instrument

Since the start of the first two COVID-19 Response special competitions in spring and summer 2020 around 120 projects have been implemented (status: December 2020). Four of them are presented here in more detail:

Martin Bauer Group

In Zimbabwe, the Martin Bauer Group is contributing to food security and health protection for the rural population during the COVID-19 pandemic with a multifaceted package of measures.

Tradin Organic Agriculture B.V.: Safe production during the pandemic

To maintain trade with organic food even during the pandemic and to protect the local population the company Tradin Organic is adapting its working environment in Ethiopia to Covid-19 conditions.

Dr. Bronner’s Europe GmbH: Securing economic livelihoods in India

Together with an Indian partner company, Dr. Bronner’s, a producer of organic soaps and cosmetics, is supporting farmers and their families with food, learning material and training.

medDV GmbH: Medical equipment and training for hospital staff

In Bolivia and Peru, the company medDV, a producer of systems solutions for rescue services, provides medical equipment and trains hospital staff i.a. in emergency medicine.

Apply now

Are you planning a project that mitigates the negative impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in developing and emerging countries? Then send your completed application documents directly to develoPPP@deginvest.de or develoPPPde@giz.de. Regardless of where you submit your application, DEG and GIZ will work closely together to ensure that you get the ideal partner for your project.

Click here for a list of frequently asked questions.

Download Application DEGDownload Application GIZ

Do you have further questions?

If you have any further questions about COVID-19 Response in the context of develoPPP.de or about your application, please contact the Agency for Business and Economic Development at +49 30 338424 765 or beratung@wirtschaft-entwicklung.de or send your inquiry directly to DEG or GIZ via the email addresses states above.

Das Programm

Zusätzlich zu den Projekten aus dem Bereich develoPPP.de Classic fördert das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) derzeit gezielt unternehmerische Initiativen zur Abmilderung der unmittelbaren gesundheitlichen und wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Corona-Pandemie in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern.

Geeignete Vorhaben können mit bis zu 2.000.000 EUR gefördert werden, wobei der öffentliche Anteil an den Gesamtkosten maximal 50 Prozent beträgt. Bei besonders hoher entwicklungspolitischer Relevanz ist im Rahmen von COVID-19 Response auch eine Förderung kerngeschäftsnaher Projekte möglich. In diesen Fällen beträgt der öffentliche Beitrag bis zu 200.000 EUR. In Übereinstimmung mit EU Beihilfe-, Gemeinnützigkeits- und Vergaberecht können in Ausnahmefällen höhere Fördersummen möglich sein.

Die zu fördernden Maßnahmen werden im Rahmen von Sonderwettbewerben ausgewählt. Aktuell können Projektvorschläge noch bis zum 31.3.2021 eingereicht werden.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Das Programm richtet sich an deutsche und europäische Unternehmen sowie Unternehmen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern, die

  • mindestens 800.000 EUR Jahresumsatz erzielen,
  • zwei operative Geschäftsjahre vorweisen können und
  • in der EU, einem Mitgliedsland der European Free Trade Association (EFTA) oder einem Land der OECD DAC-Liste registriert sind.

Die vollständigen Bewerbungskriterien finden Sie hier​​​​​​​.​​​​​​​

Von der Bewerbung zum Projekt

Interessierte Unternehmen können Projektvorschläge im Bereich COVID-19 Response bis zum 31.3.2021 bei der DEG – Deutschen Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft oder der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) einreichen. Um etwaige Fragen frühzeitig klären zu können und einen möglichst schnellen Projektstart zu ermöglichen, sind Einreichungen bereits vor Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist ausdrücklich erwünscht. Die eingehenden Projektvorschläge werden kurzfristig nach Eingang geprüft und bei positivem Bescheid gemeinsam mit dem jeweiligen Durchführungspartner weiter konkretisiert.

Wie andere das Instrument nutzen

Seit Beginn der ersten beiden Sonderwettbewerbe im Frühjahr und Sommer 2020 befinden sich bereits rund 120 Projekte in der Umsetzung (Stand: Dezember 2020). Vier davon stellen wir Ihnen hier genauer vor:

Martin Bauer Group

In Simbabwe trägt die Martin Bauer Group mit einem vielseitigen Maßnahmenbündel zur Ernährungssicherung und zum Gesundheitsschutz der ländlichen Bevölkerung während der COVID-19 Pandemie bei.

Tradin Organic Agriculture B.V.: Sichere Produktion während der Pandemie

Zur Aufrechterhaltung des ökologischen Lebensmittelhandels und zum Schutz der lokalen Bevölkerung passt das Unternehmen Tradin Organic sein Arbeitsumfeld in Äthiopien an Corona-Bedingungen an.

Dr. Bronner’s Europe GmbH: Wirtschaftliche Existenzen in Indien sichern

Mit einem indischen Partnerunternehmen unterstützt Dr. Bronner’s, ein Hersteller von Bionaturseifen und Kosmetik, Bauern und ihre Familien mit Lebensmitteln, Lernmaterialien und Schulungen.

medDV GmbH: Medizinische Ausrüstung und Weiterbildung für Klinikpersonal

In Bolivien und Peru stellt das Unternehmen medDV, ein Anbieter von Systemlösungen für das Rettungswesen, medizinische Ausrüstung bereit und schult Krankenhauspersonal u. a. zu Notfallmedizin.

Bewerben Sie sich jetzt!

Sie planen ein Vorhaben, das die Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern abmildert? Dann senden Sie Ihre ausgefüllten Bewerbungsunterlagen direkt an develoPPP@deginvest.de oder develoPPP@giz.de. Unabhängig davon, wo Sie Ihren Antrag einreichen, stellen DEG und GIZ gemeinsam sicher, dass Sie den für Ihr Projekt idealen Ansprechpartner erhalten.

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen finden Sie hier.

Bewerbungsunterlagen DEGBewerbungsunterlagen GIZ

Haben Sie weitere Fragen?

Sie haben weitere Fragen zum Thema COVID-19 Response im Rahmen von develoPPP.de oder zu Ihrer Bewerbung? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an die Agentur für Wirtschaft und Entwicklung unter +49 30 338424 765 bzw. beratung@wirtschaft-entwicklung.de oder an einen der beiden Durchführungspartner unter den oben genannten E-Mail-Adressen.